domingo, 29 de marzo de 2009

Dia G 29.3.09 (4) - Across The Universe (2007 OST)

Banda sonora de la pelicula dirigida por Julie Taymor (2007)


The film's end credits identify 33 Beatles compositions featured in the film, either in their entirety or in part. All of these songs were written between 1963 and 1970 by the members of The Beatles (John Lennon, Paul McCartney, George Harrison and Ringo Starr) and recorded by The Beatles. Twenty-nine of them are compositions that are officially credited to the songwriting partnership of Lennon-McCartney. Three are credited to George Harrison. One title ("Flying") is a 1967 composition credited to all four members of the Beatles (Lennon-McCartney-Harrison-Starkey).

Of the 29 songs that bear the official Lennon-McCartney credit, 16 are customarily attributed primarily to Lennon as a writer, and 10 are customarily attributed primarily to McCartney. The remaining three songs ("I Want to Hold Your Hand", "With a Little Help from My Friends", and "A Day in the Life") are titles that Lennon and McCartney have confirmed were written in collaboration.

Thirty of the soundtrack's songs feature vocals. Two of them ("And I Love Her" and "A Day in the Life") are brief instrumental versions of songs that were originally written with lyrics, although "And I Love Her" is sung in a deleted scene. One song ("Flying") was originally written as an instrumental.

Twenty-five of the vocal tracks are performed by one or more of the six lead cast members. Four of the songs are sung by stars with cameo roles (Bono, Eddie Izzard, Salma Hayek and Joe Cocker). One song ("Let It Be") is sung by supporting members of the cast. Another song ("Blue Jay Way") is sung by indie Texan trio The Secret Machines. In 29 of the vocal tracks, the vocalists are singing on-screen. Two of the vocal tracks ("Blue Jay Way" and "Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds") are sung by off-screen vocalists.

The remaining three of the 33 songs are instrumentals. "Flying" is performed by The Secret Machines, "And I Love Her" is heard briefly as part of the orchestral score, and "A Day in the Life" is performed on guitar by Jeff Beck in a version recorded for Sir George Martin's 1998 album In My Life.

In addition to the Beatles compositions, the soundtrack features an original score composed by Elliot Goldenthal. Goldenthal worked on Taymor's previous films Titus and Frida. (Goldenthal and director Taymor have been partners since 1982.)

Interscope Records has released three variations of soundtrack from the film — a standard edition and two deluxe editions. The standard edition contains 16 tracks from the film soundtrack, although "Let It Be" is shortened, missing the third verse. The first version of the deluxe edition features 31 tracks — all of the vocal performances and one of the three instrumental tracks.[10] In the US this 31-track version is available solely at Best Buy stores and in a digital version from iTunes, while in Europe it is available at other retail outlets. A second version of the deluxe edition is available at other retail outlets and digital download suppliers. The second version differs from the 31-track version in that it omits two tracks ("Why Don't We Do It in the Road?" and "I Want You (She's So Heavy)").

The song "It Won't Be Long" was released as a single on iTunes on September 11, 2007. On October 15, 2007–October 17, 2007, and again on October 22, 2007–October 23, 2007, the 31-track deluxe edition was the #1 downloaded album on iTunes.

The soundtrack includes seven songs from The Beatles (also known as The White Album), five from Magical Mystery Tour, five from Abbey Road, four from Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band, three from With The Beatles, two from A Hard Day's Night, two from Let It Be, one from Help!, one from Rubber Soul, and three other singles.

Standard edition track list

1. "All My Loving" — Sturgess
2. "I Want To Hold Your Hand" — Carpio
3. "It Won't Be Long" — Wood
4. "I've Just Seen A Face" — Sturgess
5. "Let It Be" — Mitchum, Woods
6. "Come Together" — Cocker
7. "I Am The Walrus" — Bono
8. "Something" — Sturgess
9. "Oh! Darling" — Fuchs; McCoy
10. "Strawberry Fields Forever" — Anderson, Sturgess
11. "Across the Universe" — Sturgess
12. "Helter Skelter" — Fuchs
13. "Happiness Is A Warm Gun" — Anderson, Hayek
14. "Blackbird" — Wood
15. "Hey Jude" — Anderson
16. "Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds" — Bono, The Edge

"Across the universe" narra una historia de amor ambientada en el trasfondo de los años 60, en medio de los años turbulentos de las protestas contra la guerra, la exploración mental y el rock’n roll. La película se traslada desde los muelles de Liverpool hasta la psicodelia creativa de Greenwich Village, desde las calles rasgadas por las revueltas de Detroit hasta los campos de muerte de Vietnam. Los desventurados amantes, Jude y Lucy, junto con un pequeño grupo de amigos y músicos, son arrastrados hacia los movimientos emergentes contra la guerra y las tendencias contraculturales, con el Dr. Robert y Mr. Kite como sus guías..


Hemos decidido por unanimidad de todos los presentes poner la Deluxe Edition, con 2 CDs y que sea lo que Dios quiera. La otra también la tenemos, pero creo que no merece la pena.


1 comentario:

katetoscopio dijo...

Nuevo pass (refresco): katetoskopio/universe